Arts Council of Sri Lanka
Executive Committee
Committee Members

Professor Jayasena Kottegoda
Former Vice Chancellor

Senior Professor Jayasena Kottagoda has been appointed as the Chairman of Arts Council of Sri Lanka by Hon. Prime Minister Mr. Mahinda Rajapaksa.

He is a Former Vice Chancellor University of the Visual & Performing Arts-Colombo, Dean faculty of Dance & Drama, first Professor and first Senior Professor in the field of Aesthetic Studies, State literary awarded research scholar and published 30 number of books in the subjects of Sri Lankan dances, Indian dances, Music, Folklore & Folk Arts.


Ven. Prof. Pathegama Gnanissara Thero
Vice Chair-person
Senior Professor

Senior Professor Ven. Pategama Gnanissara Thero is a Senior Lecturer in Buddhist Philosophy, attached to the Department of Buddhist Studies and Pali, Bhiksu University of Sri Lanka. He obtained his BA and Doctor of Philosophy in Buddhist Philosophy from the University of Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka, 2009, and Master of philosophy (M.Phil) in Buddhist Philosophy, University of Kelaniya, 1997.


Sriyantha Mendis
Executive Committee Member
Senior Actor/Artist

Sriyantha Mendis is an actor in Sri Lankan cinema, theater and television. Highly versatile actor from drama to comedy, Sriyantha has received awards for the Best actor and Best supporting actor in multiple occasions at local award festivals.


Visharad Sudath Samarasinghe
Executive Committee Member
Senior Artist

Visharad Sudath Samarasinghe is Deputy Director General in National Institute of Education.


Visvanathan Sathananthan
Executive Committee Member
Senior Lecturer

Mr. Visvanathan Sathananthan has been appointed the Executive Committee Member of Arts Council of Sri Lanka.